Public Hop Breeding Advisory Committee

The Public Hop Breeding Advisory Committee is a joint effort between the USDA, the Hop Research Council, and the Brewer's Association.  The objective of the Committee is to ensure all public hop breeding needs of the hop industry - growers/processors/brewers (craft and large breweries) - are represented, and that the objectives of each group are clearly articulated to the USDA hop breeders.  The HRC works closely with the USDA hop breeder(s) to ensure new potential public varieties receive grower and brewer approval prior to release.  The Committee members include:

  • Dr. Ryan Hayes (USDA Research Director, Forage Seed and Cereal Research Unit, Corvallis, OR)
  • Dr. John Henning (USDA-ARS Hop Geneticist)
  • Dr. Kayla Altendorf (USDA-ARS Hop Geneticist)
  • Chuck Skypeck and Kaylyn Kirkpatrick (Brewers Association/HRC Member)
  • Ed Atkins (Anheuser-Busch Inbev/HRC Member)
  • Devon Newhouse (Newhouse Farms/HRC Member)
  • Cheyne Fobert (Oregon Hop Commission/HRC Member)
  • Graham Ollard (Hollingbery & Son/HRC Member)
  • Alicia Adler, HRC Technical Director